clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Will Arnett to host NHL Awards, dates for award nominees unveiled

New, comments

It's not a trick, or an illusion.

Noel Vasquez/Getty Images

In a stunning turn of events, the NHL made a great decision. Will Arnett is set to host the NHL Awards in Las Vegas on June 22 and the NHL revealed the dates the award nominees will be announced.

Arnett is a great choice for host. He's funny, people have heard of him and he's not WIll Wheaton. God, can you imagine? I'm having a mini-nightmare just thinking about it. Anyway, it's also an improvement over Rob Riggle, whose name I know because I just Googled it. He's from that show you've maybe seen before. You know the one.

How much damage could Arnett possibly do?

[Narrator Voice]: In just three hours, Arnett managed to burn the new hockey arena to the ground

Well...there's always money in the banana stand. I hear Nate Silver thinks that's a great hockey market.

Wednesday, April 27

Vezina Trophy (top goaltender)

Thursday, April 28

Selke Trophy (forward who best excels in the defensive aspects of the game)

Friday, April 29

Norris Trophy (top defenseman)

Saturday, April 30

Lady Byng Trophy (player best combining sportsmanship and ability)

Sunday, May 1

Masterton Trophy (perseverance and dedication to hockey)

Monday, May 2

Calder Trophy (top rookie)

Tuesday, May 3

NHL Foundation Player Award (community service)

Wednesday, May 4

Mark Messier Leadership Award

Thursday, May 5

Jack Adams Award (top head coach)

Friday, May 6

Ted Lindsay Award (most outstanding player as voted by the players)

Saturday, May 7

Hart Trophy (most valuable player to his team)