clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

2016 NHL Awards: Looking back at San Jose’s award winners

Good ole’ Cheechoo

Anaheim Ducks v San Jose Sharks - Game Five Photo by Stephen Dunn/Getty Images

With Brent Burns looking to take home the Norris Trophy on Wednesday night, we’re taking a look back at the San Jose Sharks award winners over the years. I’m including awards the Sharks haven’t won so that we can see which boxes are still left to be checked. Some will be obvious, perhaps others less so.

Let’s go to the list. Awards with an asterisk are based on stats, not votes.

Jack Adams Award (Coach of the Year)

Never won.

Maurice Richard Trophy

Top Scorer*

Jonathan Cheechoo (05-06, 93 pts)

King Clancy Memorial Trophy

Leadership and Humanitarian Contribution

Never won.

William M. Jennings Trophy*

Goalie(s) With the Fewest Goals Scored Against

Never won.

Frank J. Selke Trophy

Top Defensive Forward

Never won.

Ted Lindsay Award

Most Outstanding Player as Selected by the NHLPA; FKA Lester B. Pearson Award

Never won.

Bill Masterton Memorial Trophy

Qualities of Perseverance and Sportsmanship

Tony Granato (96-97)

James Norris Memorial Trophy

Top Defenseman

Never won.

Calder Memorial Trophy

Rookie of the Year

Evgeni Nabokov (00-01)

Vezina Trophy

Top Goalie

Never won.

Lady Byng Memorial Trophy

Player who "exhibited the best type of sportsmanship and gentlemanly conduct combined with a high standard of playing ability"

Never won.

Hart Memorial Trophy

Most Valuable Player

Joe Thornton (05-06, 29G, 96A, 125P)

Of these 12 awards the Sharks have won four. Brent Burns would be the first San Jose player to ever win the Norris Trophy. The NHL Awards are set for 4 p.m. PDT on NBC Sports on Wednesday, June 22 at the Hard Rock Hotel in Las Vegas.