clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

NHL announces 2016 Hall of Fame class including former Shark Sergei Makarov

Sergei Makarov

The NHL has announced its newest class of inductees to the Hockey Hall of Fame this afternoon.

The four new members to the Hall of Fame will be Eric Lindros, Sergei Makarov and Rogie Vachon as players, and Pat Quinn will be inducted as a builder.

Eric Lindros played from 1992 until 2007, mostly with the Philadelphia Flyers. His best season was the 1995/96 season, when he scored 115 points for the Flyers.

Sergei Makarov played for CSKA Moscow for ten seasons (1978-1989) before signing with the Calgary Flames. Makarov also played two seasons for the Sharks (1993-1995), in which he scored a total of 92 points.

Rogie Vachon was a goaltender for the Montreal Canadiens and Los Angeles Kings in the sixties and seventies. Save percentage was not calculated at that time, but Vachon never had a GAA higher than 3.9, and for most of his career it was well under 3. He won the Vezina award in 1968.

Pat Quinn, who passed away almost two years ago, was an NHL head coach from 1978 until 2006 (he also coached the Oilers in the 2009/10 season). Quinn coached the Flyers, Kings, Canucks, and Maple Leafs, and only missed the playoffs three times in his almost two decades coaching (but never managed to win the Stanley Cup). Quinn won the Jack Adams award twice, in 1980 and 1992.

The Hall of Fame induction ceremony will take place in Toronto in November.