clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

McDavid, Crosby, Bobrovsky named Hart Trophy finalists

Brent Burns misses out.

NHL: Stanley Cup Playoffs-San Jose Sharks at Edmonton Oilers Perry Nelson-USA TODAY Sports

Brent Burns was not among the top three vote-getters for the Hart Trophy, as Sergei Bobrovsky, Sidney Crosby, and Connor McDavid were named finalists for the NHL’s Most Valuable Player award today.

McDavid led the league in points as the only player to hit the century mark this season, while Crosby led the league with 44 goals despite missing seven games due to injury. Bobrovsky led the league in save percentage (.931) and goals against average (2.06) as he backstopped the Blue Jackets to their first-ever 50-win and 100-point season.

As we wrote about this morning, Burns faced an uphill climb to a nomination. Only two defensemen have won Hart Trophies since the NHL expanded in 1967. Chris Pronger was the last to do so in 2000, which was also the last time a defenseman finished among the top three Hart Trophy vote-getters.

Although Burns missed out as a finalist, it’s fairly likely he will finish in the top five in voting. If Burns manages that, it will be the first time that two different Sharks have finished in the top five in MVP voting in consecutive seasons.

Last year, Joe Thornton, the Sharks’ lone Hart Trophy winner and finalist, finished fifth in MVP voting. Thornton and Owen Nolan are the only Sharks to finish in the top five of Hart Trophy voting.