clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Antoine Bibeau named to the 2018 AHL All-Star Game

The Barracuda goaltender will be making his first ever trip to the games.

San Jose Sharks Headshots Photo by Don Smith/NHLI via Getty Images

San Jose Barracuda goaltender Antoine Bibeau has been selected to compete in the 2018 AHL All-Star Games, as announced by the AHL yesterday. Bibeau was signed to a one-year, two-way contract in July by the Sharks.

Bibeau is in his fourth AHL season, his first within the Sharks organization, and currently sports an 8-7-0 record with a .916 save percentage. The 6-foot-3 netminder is currently tied for first place in the AHL with two shutouts on the year. He’s eighth in the league for goals-against average (2.37) and 15th in save percentage.

The Victoriaville, Quebec native spent his last three AHL seasons playing for the Toronto Marlies, where he posted a 52-43-11 record and carried the Marlies to the Calder Cup playoffs in each year. In total, he has played 121 games in the AHL, with a 60-40-11 record, a .907 save percentage, and 12 shut outs.

NHL: Toronto Maple Leafs at Tampa Bay Lightning
Bibeau as an NHL goalie
Kim Klement-USA TODAY Sports

The 23-year-old also played in two NHL games last year with the Toronto Maple Leafs, posting a 1-1-0 record with a 1.99 goals-against average and a .927 save percentage.

The AHL All-Star Game will be held at Utica’s Adirondack Bank Center on January 28th-29th.

Here’s the complete roster:

Atlantic Division

BRI - Sebastian Aho, Tanner Fritz
CHA - Valentin Zykov
HFD - John Gilmour
HER - Chris Bourque
LV - T.J. Brennan, Danick Martel
PRO - Jordan Binnington, Austin Czarnik
SPR - Alexandre Grenier
WBS - Casey DeSmith, Daniel Sprong

North Division

BEL - Gabriel Gagne
BNG - Bracken Kearns (“C”), Jacob MacDonald
LAV - Matt Taormina, Chris Terry
SYR - Matthew Peca
TOR - Travis Dermott, Kasperi Kapanen
UTI - Reid Boucher, Thatcher Demko

Central Division

CHI - Brandon Pirri
CLE - Dean Kukan
GR - Matt Lorito, Matt Puempel
IA - Luke Kunin
MB - Michael Hutchinson, Jack Roslovic, Cameron Schilling
MIL - Anders Lindback, Emil Pettersson
RFD - Erik Gustafsson, Vinnie Hinostroza

Pacific Division

BAK - Ty Rattie
ONT - Cal Petersen, Brett Sutter (“C”)
SA - Rocco Grimaldi, Jordan Schmaltz
SD - Andy Welinski
SJ - Antoine Bibeau
STK - Rasmus Andersson, Andrew Mangiapane
TEX - Curtis McKenzie
TUC - Nick Merkley, Dylan Strome