clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

2021 Stanley Cup Playoffs, 5/31: Start times, how to watch & open thread

New, comments

Game 7 playoff hockey? Don’t mind if I do.

Look on Toronto Maple Leafs center Joe Thornton (97) during the NHL Stanley Cup Playoffs first round game 6 between the Toronto Maple Leafs versus the Montreal Canadiens on May 29, 2021, at Bell Centre in Montreal, QC Photo by David Kirouac/Icon Sportswire via Getty Images

North Division First Round

4 p.m. PT/7 p.m. ET — Montreal Canadiens at Toronto Maple Leafs
Game 7, Series tied 3-3
CNBC, CBC, SN, TVAS

If they lose tonight, it’ll be an incredible and historic collapse for the Toronto Maple Leafs, who are just trying to make the second round for the first time since 2004. This will be the game everyone is watching, especially since the NHL loves to have two games on the schedule and barely stagger them. Still, Game 7 playoff hockey? Doesn’t get much better than that.

East Division Second Round

4:30 p.m. PT/7:30 p.m. ET — New York Islanders at Boston Bruins
Game 2, Bruins lead 1-0
NBCSN, SN1, TVAS, TVAS2

The Boston Bruins took Game 1 to the tune of 5-2, thanks to a hat trick from forward David Pastrnak and four assists by David Krejci. Tuukka Rask made 20 stops on 22 shots, but the Bruins kept the New York Islanders busy, peppering 39 shots on rookie netminder Ilya Sorokin. The Bruins are in Cup Final mode and they’re making it the Islanders’ problem.