clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Sharks split squad preseason games: Lines, how to watch & open thread

Two very different Sharks squads will hit the ice tonight.

San Jose Sharks right wing Timo Meier (28) carries the puck during the San Jose Sharks game versus the Vegas Golden Knights on May 12, 2021, at SAP Center at San Jose in San Jose, CA. Photo by Matt Cohen/Icon Sportswire via Getty Images

Hockey is almost back.

To be honest, the preseason sneaked up on me a little. Yeah, the off-season was a little shorter than usual, but does it really feel like October is this week? Where did the time go?

Anyway, ready or not, the preseason kicks off tonight and the San Jose Sharks veterans will have to get in the preseason action early, with a split-squad series of games against the Anaheim Ducks and Vegas Golden Knights. Both games will take place in the opponent’s home arena and will be broadcast on the Sharks Audio Network. The Vegas game will be broadcast on NHL Network, though it may be joined in progress.

Game 1 — 5 p.m. PT/8 p.m. ET at Honda Center in Anaheim, California

Listen on the Sharks Audio Network.


Alexander Barabanov — Tomas Hertl — Noah Gregor
Rudolfs Balcers — Nick Bonino — Kevin Labanc
John Leonard — Dylan Gambrell — Joachim Blichfeld
Nick Merkley — Tristen Robins — Ozzy Wiesbaltt

Radim Simek — Marc-Edouard Vlasic
Artemi Kniazev — Ryan Merkley
Jacob Middleton — Nicolas Meloche

Alexei Melnichuk


Game 2 — 7 p.m. PT/10 p.m. ET at T-Mobile Arena in Las Vegas, Nevada

Listen on the Sharks Audio Network. Broadcast will join in progress on NHL Network.


Jonathan Dahlen — Logan Couture — Timo Meier
Andrew Cogliano — Jasper Weatherby — Matt Nieto
William Eklund — Lane Pederson — Sasha Chmelevski
Jeffrey Viel — Scott Reedy — Adam Raska

Mario Ferraro — Brent Burns
Santeri Hatakka — Jaycob Menga
Gannon Laroque — Mark Alt

Adin Hill
Benjamin Gaudreau


Max Pacioretty — Chandler Stephenson — Mark Stone
Mattias Janmark — Nolan Patrick — Evgenii Dadonov
Paul Cotter — Brett Howden — Peyton Krebs
Sven Baertschi — Gage Quinney — Jack Dugan

Brayden McNabb — Shea Theodore
Lukas Cormier — Zach Whitecloud
Zack Hayes — Dylan Coghlan

Logan Thompson
Jesper Vikman