Four current Sharks named to 25th Anniversary Team

Brent Burns and Marc-Edouard Vlasic make up defensive pairing.

Four current San Jose Sharks were named to the 25th Anniversary First Team on Tuesday and a total of five were named to either the first or second team.

Brent Burns and Marc-Edouard Vlasic are the Sharks First Team defensive pairing, while Joe Thornton, Patrick Marleau and Owen Nolan make up the forward line. Unsurprisingly Evgenvi Nabokov was named the netminder of the First Team.

Joe Pavelski is the only current Shark on the Second Team. He's joined by Jonathan Cheechoo and Mike Ricci on the forward line, while Dan Boyle and Douglas Murray make up the Second Team defensive pairing. Arturs Irbe is the netminder of the Second Team, in case you were wondering what kind of depth the Sharks are looking at in goal, historically.

This list was voted on by fans over the past few months. As far as surprises go, seeing Brent Burns on the First Team for defense and not Dan Boyle is definitely up there. While not a huge surprise, Antti Niemi deserves to be on the second team over Irbe.

I think Joe Pavelski will eventually end up on the First Team, but other than that these teams are fine.

Check out the graphic below, which was sent over by the Sharks.