MacLellan, Nill, and Rutherford GM of the Year finalists

Jim Rutherford, Brian MacLellan and Jim Nill are 2016's GM of the Year finalists

The NHL has announced this year's finalists for GM of the Year, and it's a group of first time finalists for the award.

Jim Nill, the Dallas Stars general manager of three years, gets credit for adding Johnny Oduya, Patrick Sharp, and Antti Niemi to the Stars lineup. The Stars had the most points in the Western Conference after finishing outside the playoffs last season. This season's division title was the Stars' first in ten years.

Brian MacLellan's team, the Washington Capitals, won the President's Trophy with 120 points this season. The Caps also broke a team record with 56 wins. MacLellan, who has been GM for two years, is credited for adding TJ Oshie and Justin Williams to his team last offseason.

Penguins GM Jim Rutherford is the final nominee. Rutherford has been at the helm since June 2014, and he made a number of significant trades to help get the Penguins where they are now, most notably his trade for Phil Kessel. Along with adding Nick Bonino, Eric Fehr, Matt Cullen, Trevor Daley, and Carl Hagelin, Rutherford also made a coaching change that seemed to turn the Penguins season around.

I know I'm biased, but I think Doug Wilson deserved a nomination here for the Martin Jones trade alone. He's certainly more deserving than Jim Nill, and if you don't believe me take a look at the Stars' goaltending deals. Yikes.

The NHL Awards will be held in Las Vegas on June 22.