Sharks announce 2019 Rookie Faceoff roster and schedule

Two 2019 draft picks will participate in the tournament in Anaheim.

The San Jose Sharks will participate in the 2019 Anaheim Rookie Faceoff hosted by the Anaheim Ducks from September 7 through September 10. In addition to the Sharks and Ducks, prospects for the Los Angeles Kings, Arizona Coyotes, Vegas Golden Knights and Colorado Avalanche will be on the round-robin schedule.

The Sharks announced their roster for the Faceoff on Thursday afternoon. There are 18 forwards, 10 defenders and three goaltenders. Known prospects on the roster include forwards Ivan Chekhovich, Sasha Chmelevski and Ryan Merkley.

In 2018, Chekhovich recorded 105 points (43 goals, 62 assists) in 66 games with the QMJHL’s Baie-Comeau Drakkar and added four points in five games with the Sharks’ AHL affiliate San Jose Barracuda.

Chmelevski recorded 75 points (35G, 40A) during his season with the Ottawa 67’s of the OHL. Both players are expected to compete for roster spots with the Sharks this fall.

Merkley recorded 71 total points (14 G, 57A) in the OHL with the Guelph Storm and Peterborough Petes. Merkley is expected to return to the Petes for the 2019-20 season.

2019 Draft selections Artemi Kniazev and Dillon Hamaliuk are also included on the roster.

Amateur free agent signings forward Lean Bergmann, who recorded 29 points in 50 games in the German Ice Hockey League, and defenseman Tony Sund, who put up 35 points in 60 games in the Finnish Elite League, will make their debut on the Rookie Tournament roster.

The Sharks prospects will play three games during the tournament. They’ll play the Coyotes rookies at 3 p.m. on Sept. 7, then face the host Ducks at 5 p.m on Sept. 8. After a day off, they’ll end the tournament against the Kings rookies at 1 p.m.

Full Sharks 2019 Rookie Tournament Roster


Lean Bergmann (Iserlohn, DEL)
Joachim Blichfield (Portland, WHL)
Ivan Chekhovich (Baie-Comeau, QMJHL; San Jose, AHL)
Sasha Chmelevski (Ottawa, OHL)
Zachary Gallant (Peterborough, OHL; Toledo, ECHL)
Noah Gregor (Prince Albert, WHL)
Jake Gricius (Portland, WHL)
Dillon Hamaliuk (Seattle, WHL)
Artem Ivanyuzhenkov (Sioux Falls, USHL)
Joel Kellman (Brynas IF Gavle, SweHL)
Ivan Kosorenkov (Worcester, ECHL; San Jose, AHL)
Vladislav Kotkov (Chicoutimi, QMJHL; San Jose, AHL)
Tristan Langan (Moose Jaw, WHL)
Jacob McGrew (Spokane, WHL)
Marcus Vela (New Hampshire, Hockey East, NCAA; San Jose, AHL)
Jeffrey Viel (San Jose, AHL)
Manuel Wiederer (San Jose, AHL)
Danil Yurtaykin (Yaroslavl, KHL)


Mitchell Brewer (Oshawa, OHL)
Mario Ferraro (University of Massachusetts-Amherst, Hockey East, NCAA)
Thomas Gregoire (San Jose, AHL)
Artemi Kniazev (Chicoutimi, QMJHL)
Nikolai Knyzhov (St. Petersburg SKA, KHL)
Jake Lee (Seattle, WHL)
Ryan Merkley (Peterborough and Guelph, OHL; San Jose, AHL)
Keaton Middleton (San Jose, AHL)
Tony Sund (Sport Vaasa, SM-liiga)
Hudson Wilson (Ottawa, OHL)


Zachary Emond (Rouyn-Noranda, QMJHL)
Zachary Sawchenko (University of Alberta, Canada West Universities Athletic Association, U Sports)
Andrew Shortridge (Quinnipiac, Eastern College Athletic Conference, NCAA; San Jose, AHL)