2021 Expansion Draft: Sharks protected list

Seattle will likely take a forward from San Jose’s exposed players.

With the 2021 Expansion Draft next week, 30 NHL teams had to submit a list of protected players who the Seattle Kraken will not be able to select. Teams could choose to protect seven forwards and three defenders or eight total skaters, as well as one goaltender.

The San Jose Sharks elected to protect seven forwards and three defenders. This is their protected list:


Logan Couture
Evander Kane
Timo Meier
Tomas Hertl
Kevin Labanc
Rudolfs Balcers
Jonathan Dahlen


Erik Karlsson (NMC)
Brent Burns
Marc-Edouard Vlasic (NMC)


Adin Hill

The Kraken will select 14 forwards, nine defenders and three goaltenders from exposed players to draft their 2021-22 team. Among the Sharks players exposed are forwards Ryan Donato, Matt Nieto and Dylan Gambrell and defender Radim Simek. At least 20 of the players Seattle takes must be under contract through the 2021-22 season. Gambrell, Nieto, Simek and goaltender Martin Jones are the only Sharks players who would fill this requirement.

The Expansion Draft will be Wednesday, July 21, at 5 p.m. PT/8 p.m. ET.