Comments / New

San Jose Sharks All-Time 3-on-3 Teams: New millennium has been good to the Sharks

Our pals over at Die By The Blade have a neat post up today that proposes an all-Buffalo All-Star Game that divides the franchise into four eras and creates 3v3 all-star teams from it. So let’s try and do the same for the Sharks. The teams are comprised of six forwards, three defenders and two goaltenders (so yeah, that’s going to get interesting).

Since the Sabres have been around about 20 years longer than the Sharks, I’m going to cut the number of teams down from four to two. I’ll give the Founding Era the first 12 years and the Modern Era from the 2003-04 season to the present. Okay? Okay. To the table!

I placed Patrick Marleau in the Modern Era as he’s played more after the cut than before it. Scott Hannan was assigned to the Founding Era because he was good then. Cool.

Founding Era (1991-2003) Modern Era (2003-present)
F: Owen Nolan F: Joe Thornton
F: Jeff Friesen F: Patrick Marleau
F: Vincent Damphousse F: Joe Pavelski
F: Marco Sturm F: Logan Couture
F: Mike Ricci F: Jonathan Cheechoo
F: Igor Larionov F: Milan Michalek
D: Sandis Ozolinsh D: Marc-Edouard Vlasic
D: Mike Rathje D: Dan Boyle
D: Scott Hannan D: Christian Ehrhoff
G: Arturs Irbe G: Evgeni Nabokov
G: Steve Shields G: Antti Niemi

So…which team is winning this game? Vote in the poll and yell at me because I forgot your favorite player below.

Which team is winning this game?

Founding Era 37
Modern Era 260

fear the fin logoAs many of you know, Fear the Fin is an independent site run by Sharks fans for Sharks fans. Help keep Fear the Fin independent by contributing to our GoFundMe or buying merchandise. Proceeds help us pay our writers and fund subscriptions to our favorite analytics sites.

Looking for an easy way to support FearTheFin? Use our Affiliate Link when shopping hockey merch this holiday season!